Select Page

Life in Straubing

In Straubing, you not only enjoy excellent teaching, the university city also impresses with its high quality of life. Straubing is located in a scenically attractive region – on the Danube and in the immediate vicinity of the Bavarian Forest – with a wide range of sports, leisure and cultural activities. In a location like Straubing, students benefit from short distances as well as affordable rents and living costs.

Eine Frau liest auf einer Decke im Grünen an der Donau ein Buch. Im Hintergrund die Stadt Straubing mit dem berühmten Stadtturm.Thanks to the well-developed bicycle network and a bicycle rental system, students can reach all areas of the city quickly and safely. Otherwise, a comprehensive city bus service guarantees mobility.

Straubing is conveniently located on both the A3 and A92 freeways and the B8 and B20 federal highways, and is only a 60-minute drive from Munich International Airport. Situated in the middle of the triangle of Munich, Passau and Regensburg, the city is very easy to reach by train.

Sights & Facts

With the friendly support of
bildschnitt TV GmbH / bildschnitt.tv

ProLehre Medienproduktion / https://www.prolehre.tum.de/angebote/medienproduktion/

Music: Frametraxx – Higher Hopes / https://www.frametraxx.de/info/musik-fuer-youtube.html

Annual Events

With the friendly support of
bildschnitt TV GmbH / bildschnitt.tv

ProLehre Medienproduktion / https://www.prolehre.tum.de/angebote/medienproduktion/
Fotowerbung Bernhard / https://www.foto-bernhard.de/
Straubinger Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungs GmbH / https://www.ausstellungs-gmbh.de/
Rivertone GmbH & Co. KG / https://www.rivertone.de/

Music: Frametraxx – Heaven / https://www.frametraxx.de/info/musik-fuer-youtube.html

Things to do

With friendly support from
bildschnitt TV GmbH / bildschnitt.tv

ProLehre Medienproduktion / https://www.prolehre.tum.de/angebote/medienproduktion/
Fotowerbung Bernhard / https://www.foto-bernhard.de/
Straubing Tigers / https://www.straubing-tigers.de/
NawaRo Straubing / https://www.nawaro-straubing.de/
Straubing Spiders / https://www.straubing-spiders.de/
AQUAtherm – Stadtwerke Straubing / https://www.stadtwerke-straubing.com/
Friedenhain-See / https://www.friedenhainsee.de/
Boulderhalle Straubing / https://www.www.boulderhalle-straubing.de/
SWiTCH Boardershop / https://www.switch-boardershop.de/
Stadtstrand Straubing / https://www.facebook.com/stadtstrandstraubing/
Tiergarten Straubing / http://www.tiergarten-straubing.de/
Krügerland / https://www.kruegerland.de/
Blue Brix Straubinger Wunderwelten / https://www.bluebrix.de/
Citydom Straubing / https://www.citydom.de/
LaserTag Arena Straubing / http://www.lasertag-straubing.de/
Liberty Center Straubing / https://www.libery-center.de/
Gäubodenmuseum / http://www.gaeubodenmuseum.de/
Landestheater Niederbayern / https://www.landestheater-niederbayern.de/
AnStattTheater / https://www.straubing.de/de/kultur-sport-und-freizeit/veranstaltungen/veranstaltungsorte/schlachthof/
Galerie Halle II / https://www.straubing.de/de/kultur-sport-und-freizeit/veranstaltungen/veranstaltungsorte/schlachthof/

Music: Frametraxx – Walking on Air & Shake your hips / https://www.frametraxx.de/info/musik-fuer-youtube.html

Getting around

With friendly support from
bildschnitt TV GmbH / bildschnitt.tv

Stadtwerke Straubing GmbH / https://www.stadtwerke-straubing.com
Tourismusverband Ostbayern e.V. / https://www.ostbayern-tourismus.de

Music: Frametraxx – Anywhere / https://www.frametraxx.de/info/musik-fuer-youtube.html

All information at a glance is available in the current semester info brochure:
https://standort.straubing.de/media/standort.straubing.de/org/med_1460/2579_tum_studentenfuehrer_2021.pdf

Panorama: Stadt Straubing aus dem Westen gesehen. /Panorama: city of Straubing seen from the west.

Register your first residence and benefit as a new resident of Straubing from the extensive welcome package of the University City of Straubing:

  • 100 € as Straubing Schecks
  • Admission vouchers for public institutions (e.g. zoo, museum, etc.)
  • Voucher for a guided city tour

More information and how it works: Flyer Heimvorteil

Contact Student Advising

You have questions about the application, admission or administrative
processes in your studies?
Please have your application or matriculation number ready, if available.

Student Advising Munich

Arcisstraße 21
Room 0144
D-80333 Munich

Phone: +49 (0) 89 289-22245
E-Mail: studium@tum.de

Phone and opening hours
Appointments only by arrangement

Student Advising Straubing

Petersgasse 5
Room: 00.002
D-94315 Straubing

Phone: +49 (0) 9421 187-166
E-Mail: studieren.straubing@tum.de

More Information

Find additional information in the OASA’s wiki.